Barnes-Jewish Receives Level I Trauma Designation from Illinois

Barnes-Jewish Hospital’s Trauma Center recently received Level I designation from the state of Illinois. The program is now designated as a Level I in Missouri and Illinois. It also is verified by the American College of Surgeons (ACS) as a Level I trauma center.


Key elements of Barnes-Jewish Hospital’s Trauma Center include 24-hour in-house coverage by general surgery, emergency medicine and obstetrics, and availability of care in specialties such as orthopedic surgery, neurosurgery, anesthesiology, and cardiothoracic, hand, microvascular and pediatric surgery.


Six trauma/critical-care rooms in the emergency department, separated from the emergent-care area, provide privacy and high-tech care. Two full-body CT scanners are located in the trauma/critical-care area to expedite care. The hospital’s rooftop heliport with dedicated elevator access makes air transfers faster and more convenient. Nurses and physicians certified in trauma care provide high-level care to patients in the emergency and surgical intensive care departments.

Sign Up Today for Free e-Newsletters

Find a doctor or make an appointment:
General Information: (314) 747-3000
One Barnes-Jewish Hospital Plaza
St. Louis, MO 63110
© Copyright 1997-2016, Barnes-Jewish Hospital. All Rights Reserved.