Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

National Patient Safety Goals

The Joint CommissionAn independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 20,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. The Joint Commission is committed to improving health care safety. This commitment is inherent in its mission to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. At its heart, accreditation is a risk-reduction activity; compliance with standards is intended to reduce the risk of adverse outcomes.

BJH National Patient Safety Goals
2014 National Patient Safety Goals (click to enlarge)

Joint Commission accreditation and certification is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to meeting certain performance standards. Its National Patient Safety Goals (NPSGs) program was established to help accredited organizations address specific areas of concern in regard to patient safety.

Barnes-Jewish receives UHC Rising Star Award
Barnes-Jewish receives UHC Rising Star Award

Your support makes a difference. Give to The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital today.


Sign Up Today for Free e-Newsletters

Get the latest in medical technology, research and disease prevention sent to your inbox.
Find a doctor or make an appointment:
General Information: 314.747.3000
One Barnes-Jewish Hospital Plaza
St. Louis, MO 63110
© Copyright 1997-2018, Barnes-Jewish Hospital. All Rights Reserved.