Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Go

CLINICAL FACULTY

Executive Director of Pharmacy

James L. Gray, III, PharmD, MBA
Director of Pharmacy
BS, University of Pittsburgh
PharmD, Duquesne University
MBA, Washington University
Residency, Mercy Hospital, Pittsburgh
james.gray.bjc.org

Residency Program Clinical Faculty

Kristan M. Augustin, PharmD, BCOP
Stem Cell Transplant/Hematologic Malignancies
BS, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
Pharmacy Practice Residency, University of Illinois at Chicago
Oncology Pharmacy Practice Residency, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston
kristan.augustin@bjc.org

K. Bennett Bain, PharmD, BCPS
Lung Transplant
BA, University of Virginia
PharmD, University of California San Francisco
PGY1 Residency, University of Virginia
PGY2 Infectious Diseases Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
karenbennett.bain@bjc.org

Kevin D. Betthauser, PharmD
Medicine Critical Care
PharmD, Drake University
PGY1 Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
PGY2 Critical Care Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
kevin.betthauser@bjc.org

Jeffrey R. Blunt, PharmD
Drug Information
BS, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
Residency, Jewish Hospital, St. Louis
jeffrey.blunt@bjc.org

Sara K. Butler, PharmD, BCPS, BCOP
Program Director, PGY2 Oncology Residency
Medical Oncology
PharmD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Pharmacy Practice Residency, Duke University Hospital
Oncology Specialty Residency, Duke University Hospital
sara.butler@bjc.org

William B. Call, PharmD, BCPS
Internal Medicine
Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PGY1 Residency, VA Saint Louis Health Care System - John Cochran Division
PGY2 Internal Medicine Residency, VA Saint Louis Health Care System - John Cochran Division
william.call@bjc.org

Clarice E. Carthon, PharmD, BCPS
Kidney, Liver, Pancreas Transplant
PharmD, Howard University
PGY1 Residency, Methodist Dallas Medical Center
PGY2 Solid Organ Transplant Residency, University Health System, San Antonio, TX
clarice.carthon@bjc.org

Ed Casabar, PharmD, BCPS, AQ-Infectious Diseases
Infectious Diseases
BS, University of Iowa
PharmD, University of Iowa
Fellowship, University of Iowa
Added Qualifications in Infectious Diseases
ed.casabar@bjc.org

Emily Cooke, PharmD
Maternal-Fetal Medicine
PharmD, University of Louisiana at Monroe
PGY1 Residency, University of Mississippi Medical Center
PGY2 Internal Medicine Residency, Grady Health System
emily.cooke@bjc.org

Eli N. Deal, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS
Program Director, PGY2 Internal Medicine Residency
Internal Medicine
PharmD, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Pharmacotherapy Specialty Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
eli.deal@bjc.org

Jamie L. Elsner, PharmD
Stem Cell Transplant/Hematologic Malignancies
BS, University of Florida
MS, Barry University
PharmD, University of Maryland School of Pharmacy
Pharmacy Practice Residency, The Johns Hopkins Hospital
Oncology Pharmacy Residency, The Johns Hopkins Hospital
jamie.elsner@bjc.org

Keith A. Fester, PharmD, BCPS
Lung Transplant
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PGY1 Residency, Saint Louis University Hospital
PGY2 Solid Organ Transplant Residency, New York-Presbyterian Hospital
keith.fester@bjc.org

Laura A. Flynn, PharmD
Medical Oncology
PharmD, Butler University
PGY1 Residency, Northshore University HealthSystem
PGY2 Hematology/Oncology Residency, University of Chicago Medicine
laura.flynn@bjc.org

Gabrielle A. Gibson, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP
Surgery/Burn/Trauma Critical Care
BS, University of Michigan
PharmD, University of Michigan
PGY1 Residency, Cleveland Clinic
PGY2 Critical Care Residency, Cleveland Clinic
gabrielle.gibson@bjc.org

Misty L. Gonzalez, PharmD, BCPP
Psychiatry
Clinical Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice,
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, School of Pharmacy
PharmD, Purdue University
PGY1 Residency, State University of New York, Buffalo
PGY2 Psychiatry Residency, State University of New York, Buffalo
misty.gonzalez@bjc.org

Jennifer C. Hagopian, BS, PharmD, BCPS
PGY2 Solid Organ Transplant Residency Program Director
Kidney, Liver, Pancreas Transplant
BS, University of Michigan
PharmD, Wayne State University
PGY1 Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
PGY2 Solid Organ Transplant Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
jennifer.hagopian@bjc.org

Aaron P. Hartmann, PharmD, BCPS
Internal Medicine
Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
BS, Biological Sciences, University of Missouri
PharmD, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Pharmacotherapy Specialty Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
aaron.hartmann@bjc.org

Timothy A. Horwedel, PharmD, BCPS
Program Director, PGY1 Residency
Kidney, Liver, Pancreas Transplant
PharmD, Northeastern University 
PGY1 Residency, Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit, MI
PGY2 Transplant Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
timothy.horwedel@bjc.org

Theresa Human, PharmD, BCPS, FNCS
Neurology/Neurosurgery Intensive Care
BS, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
Pharmacy Practice Residency, Charleston Area Medical Center
Critical Care Specialty Residency, Medical University of South Carolina
theresa.human@bjc.org

Benjamin M. Jagow, PharmD
Med/Onc - Surgical Critical Care
PharmD, Drake University
PGY1 Residency, Northwestern Memorial Hospital
PGY2 Critical Care Residency, Midwestern University/Northwestern Memorial Hospital
benjamin.jagow@bjc.org

Spenser E. January, PharmD
Solid Organ Transplant
BS, chemistry, John Brown University
PharmD, University of Oklahoma
PGY1 Residency, Henry Ford Hospital
PGY2 Solid Organ Transplant Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
spenser.january@bjc.org

Paul Juang, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP, FASHP, FCCM
Medicine Critical Care
Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
BS, University of Rochester
PharmD, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
Pharmacy Practice Residency, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Critical Care Specialty Residency, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center
paul.juang@bjc.org

Christine S. Kelso, PharmD, BCPS, AE-C
Ambulatory Care
BS, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
Pharmacy Practice Residency, St. Elizabeth's Hospital
christine.kelso@bjc.org

Lara C. Kerwin, PharmD
Ambulatory Care
Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PharmD, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Pharmaceutical Care Leadership Residency, University of Minnesota
lara.kerwin@bjc.org

Jeff O. Klaus, PharmD, BCPS
Stem Cell Transplant/Hematologic Malignancies
PharmD, University of Houston
Pharmacotherapy Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
jeff.klaus@bjc.org

Tamara Krekel, PharmD
Infectious Diseases/Antimicrobial Stewardship
BS, Arizona State University
PharmD, Midwestern University-Glendale
PGY1 Residency, Banner Estrella Medical Center
PGY2 Infectious Diseases Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
tamara.krekel@bjc.org

Jennifer N. Lashinsky, PharmD, BCCCP
Cardiothoracic Surgery/Critical Care
PharmD, University of Rhode Island
PGY1 Residency, Detroit Medical Center
PGY2 Critical Care Residency, University of Michigan Health System
jennifer.lashinsky@bjc.org

Katie L. Lentz, PharmD
Medical Oncology
PharmD, University of Kentucky
PGY1 Residency, Duke University Hospital
PGY2 Hematology/Oncology Residency, Duke University Hospital
katie.lentz@bjc.org

Craig A. McCammon, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP
Emergency Medicine
PharmD, University of Missouri, Kansas City
Pharmacy Practice Residency, VA Medical Center, Salt Lake City
Critical Care Specialty Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
craig.mccammon@bjc.org

Scott T. Micek, PharmD, BCPS, FCCP
Medicine Critical Care
Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
Director, Center for Health Outcomes Research and Education, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PharmD, University Iowa
Pharmacy Practice Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
scott.micek@bjc.org

Julie A. Nobbe, PharmD
Investigational Drug Service
BS, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
Pharmacy Practice Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
julie.nobbe@bjc.org

Marissa A. Olson, PharmD
Stem Cell Transplant/Hematologic Malignancies
PharmD, University of Kansas
PGY1 Pharmacy Practice Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
PGY2 Hematology/Oncology Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
marissa.olson@bjc.org

Emily J. Owen, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP
Surgery/Burn/Trauma Critical Care
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PGY1 Residency, Saint Louis University Hospital
PGY2 Critical Care Residency, Saint Louis University Hospital
emily.owen@bjc.org

Heather M. Pautler, PharmD, MHA, BCPS
Ambulatory Care
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PGY1 Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
heather.pautler@bjc.org

Kelly M. Plach, PharmD
Stem Cell Transplant/Hematologic Malignancies
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PGY1 Pharmacy Practice Residency, University of Chicago Medicine
PGY2 Oncology/Hematology Residency, University of Chicago Medicine
kelly.plach@bjc.org

April A. Pottebaum, PharmD
Solid Organ Transplant
PharmD, South Dakota State University
Pharmacotherapy Specialty Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
april.pottebaum@bjc.org

Hannah E. Pope, PharmD, BCPS
Cardiology Critical Care
PharmD, Purdue University
PGY1 Residency, St. Louis University Hospital
PGY2 Critical Care Residency, St. Louis University Hospital
hannah.pope@bjc.org

Jane D. Portell, PharmD
Drug Information
BS Education, University of Missouri, Columbia
BS, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PharmD, University of Arkansas
jane.portell@bjc.org

Kristin J. Progar, PharmD
Solid Organ Transplant
BS Chemistry, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
PharmD, University of Illinois-Chicago
PGY1 Residency, University of Illinois-Chicago
PGY2 Solid Organ Transplant Residency, University of Illinois-Chicago
kristin.progar@bjc.org

Sara Richter, PharmD, BCPS
Internal Medicine
Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PGY1 Residency, Mercy Hospital, St. Louis
PGY2 Internal Medicine Residency, Veterans Administration Healthcare System, St. Louis
sara.richter@bjc.org

David J. Ritchie, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS, AQ-Infectious Diseases
Program Director, PGY2 Infectious Diseases Residency
Professor of Pharmacy Practice, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
BS, Purdue University
PharmD, Purdue University
Residency, Jewish Hospital of St. Louis
Added Qualifications in Infectious Diseases
david.ritchie@bjc.org

Stephen J. Schafers, JD, PharmD, BCPS
Internal Medicine
BS, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
JD, Laclede School of Law
stephen.schafers@bjc.org

Kendall C. Shultes, PharmD
Stem Cell Transplant/Hematologic Malignancies
BA, Communications, State of University of New York at Geneseo
PharmD, Belmont University College of Pharmacy
PGY1 Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
PGY2 Oncology Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
kendall.shultes@bjc.org

Jerrica E. Shuster, PharmD, BCPS, AQ-Cardiology
Heart Failure/Heart Transplant
BS, Kent State University
PharmD, University of Southern Nevada
PGY1 Residency, Massachusetts General Hospital
PGY2 Cardiology Residency, University of Michigan Hospitals
jerrica.shuster@bjc.org

Jennifer R. Smith, PharmD, MBA, BCPS
Manager of Clinical and Investigational Drug Services
PharmD, Butler University
MBA, Webster University
Pharmacy Practice Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
Critical Care Specialty Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
jennifer.smith3@bjc.org

Bethany R. Tellor, PharmD, BCPS
Cardiothoracic Surgery/Critical Care
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PGY1 Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
PGY2 Critical Care Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
bethany.tellor@bjc.org

Katherine L. Weaver, PharmD, BCCCP
Medicine Critical Care
PharmD, Duquesne University
PGY1 Residency, UPMC Mercy Hospital
PGY2 Critical Care Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
katherine.roberts@bjc.org

Elizabeth M. Welch, PharmD, BCPS
Pharmacy Administration
Inpatient Pharmacy Supervisor
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PGY1 Residency, Barnes-Jewish Hospital
beth.welch@bjc.org

Rachel C. Wolfe, PharmD, BCCCP
Perioperative Services/Surgical Critical Care
BS, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PharmD, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
PGY1 Residency, University of Kentucky
PGY2 Critical Care Residency, University of Kentucky
rachel.wolfe@bjc.org

FACTS ABOUT OUR FACULTY

Forty-Eight On-Site Preceptors
The large, full-time clinical faculty at Barnes-Jewish Hospital is dedicated to teaching pharmacy residents. They come from diverse backgrounds and share numerous years of experience in a wide variety of clinical settings. All faculty members meet ASHP's latest standards for preceptor qualifications. In addition, 41 hold adjunct appointments and 7 hold full-time appointments at either the St. Louis College of Pharmacy or Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville.

Board Certification
Our clinical specialists that provide direct patient care obtain board certification within 3 years of their hire date. Of our 48 clinical faculty preceptors, 45 provide direct patient care. Twenty-eight are board-certified pharmacotherapy specialists (BCPS); 7 are board certified critical care pharmacists (BCCCP); 2 are board certified oncology pharmacists (BCOP); and 1 is a board certified psychiatric pharmacist (BCPP). Five hold dual certifications.

Research Interests
The clinical faculty participate in their own clinical research or as preceptors for pharmacy resident's projects. Much of the research performed by our faculty is outcome-based. Areas of research are as varied as the number of faculty.

Residents' Research Design and Statistics Course
Since 2004, members of our clinical faculty and the Pharmacy Manager of Medical Informatics have taught a research design and statistics course for pharmacy residents. Topics are geared to complement the design and analysis of the residents' residency projects and to prepare residents for board certification.



Sign Up Today for Free e-Newsletters

Get the latest in medical technology, research and disease prevention sent to your inbox.
Find a doctor or make an appointment:
General Information: 314.747.3000
One Barnes-Jewish Hospital Plaza
St. Louis, MO 63110
© Copyright 1997-2018, Barnes-Jewish Hospital. All Rights Reserved.